Netskope LogoNetskope Logo
  • Security Services
  • AI Services
  • Networking Services
  • Analytics Services
  • Integrations
  • getting-started.svgGetting Started
    • Support
    • Community
    • Netskope.com
    © 2026 All Rights Reserved. Netskope Inc.
    Home
    Classic API Data Protection
    API Data Protection for Egnyte
    Deleted/Deactivated User Behavior in Egnyte

    Deleted/Deactivated User Behavior in Egnyte

    This article describes how API Data Protection deals when a user is either deleted or deactivated in Egnyte.

    User StateBehavior
    Deleted
    • Policy processing: Netskope cannot carry out any file operation (actions) for deleted users’ files.
    • Retro scan: Netskope does not get any file listing for a deleted user.
    • API Data Protection Dashboard: Deleted users’ file may exist in dashboard, but in-actionable.
    DeactivatedSame behavior as above.
    Corner cases:

    If a user uploads a file on a shared and/or private folder and immediately after that the user is deleted or deactivated, here is how API Data Protection handles this scenario:

    • Upload a file on a shared folder followed by user deletion: Policy processing will go ahead.
    • Upload a file on a private folder followed by user deletion: Policy processing will stop.
    • Upload a file on a shared folder followed by user deactivation: Policy processing will go ahead.
    • Upload a file on a private folder followed by user deactivation: Policy processing will go ahead.

    Note

    User listing will occur for a new user even if the user does not login. However, a new user is expected to log in at least once for API Data Protection to process any policy.

    In this Topic
    • Deleted/Deactivated User Behavior in Egnyte